The Good Ol’ Days

Sometimes I look back on different “eras” of my life and wish I could relive them. I honestly don’t do this too much – I’m pretty good at keeping myself grounded in the present and getting excited for the future. However, on occasion, I do get wrapped up in nostalgia (as we all do) and think of my past as the “good ol’ days”. Funny thing is, even though I look back wistfully now, at the time of most of my greatest memories, I didn’t feel like I was doing anything special or worth remembering.  There are definitely times when I have been in moments so perfect that I literally think, “Soak this in because you will forever remember this and wish you could be back to where you are right now”, but these moments are few and far between. Most of the time I am wishing I was back in very average chapters of my life. I guess when I reminisce, I sort of forget all the bad and only remember the good of my past (perhaps I’m  just a romanticist).  I wonder how long it will take for me to wish I was back in the good ol’ summer of 2011 again….

I guess the moral of all this is to appreciate each moment of everyday because one day you will probably wish you were back to where you are now. A better moral would be to stop romanticizing the past and get excited for your present. And if you don’t have anything to be excited or passionate about – change that!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Good Ol’ Days

  1. Cara!

    Hm. I like this.

Leave a Reply

