It’s A Wonderful Life

I probably should have had this thought years ago, but I just started thinking about the differences between wishing you were dead and wishing you had never been born.

For some reason, it seems like people react more to someone claiming they want to be dead than to people wishing they’d never been born. Perhaps it’s because you actually can commit suicide and you cannot be “unborn”. I just think it’s odd that people seem to think a suicidal person is more serious than a person wishing they had never existed. To me, that seems far more depressing. I think most people, at some point in their lives, wish they could just go to sleep and never wake up. I’m not referring to suicidal people, but to people who feel so overwhelmed that this idea simply creeps up on them. When stress and life have really gotten to me, I’ve had this thought, but I have never ever wished I had never existed. That seems like a terrible thing for someone to think about – devaluing your life so much that you wish it had never been. This is saying that you believe nothing good has come from your life, and the world would have been better off without you.

I don’t know. Just a thought I had. Merry Christmas haha.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It’s A Wonderful Life

  1. Aunt Janet

    All these years of watching It’s a Wonderful Life and you come up with new thoughts every year I bet! LOL I agree with your thought process on one end and see it a little differently on another. Like you, there have been times where I just wished I could close my eyes and never wake up but I never have thought that I wished I had never been. That is very sad. However, to think about committing suicide, you think about all the people who would be hurt over it. If you have never been…no one would know the difference and no one would be hurt.

Leave a Reply

